Ride the wave of the GleeCap. Lows then highs. Brace yourself.
So much of the first part of this episode was along the lines of WTF where did THAT come from? They lost a lot of emotional resonance for not building up to this moment. :/
Emma’s dating someone! Because he has cleaning equipment (lolololol)! Oh, hello Quinn’s mom, why don’t you come end the baby plot with no set up! Kurt, where did your fashion sense go?! Puck plies girls with wine coolers to get them to have sex with them!
Journey Medley = Rachel and Finn a-thon (Thanks, Schue) including starting the first song with ONLY them
Here’s what should have been their set list for Regionals:
-Don’t Stop Believing (Rachel, Finn highlight, since TPTB seem to think that we all ship them just because they’re straight and pretty, Puck and Santana, nostalgia. Come on, you’d love it for them to start out liek that)
-Like a Prayer (Pretty much everyone gets to shine)
-Bad Romance (Lots of voices)
It would have been KICK ASS. I can see swapping Don’t Stop with Bad Romance if they need to be able to strip out of the weird costumes between numbers, for the sake of logic... but last week they had the Solid Gold Pregnant Dancers, so I don’t know how much logic they want to put into things. But those are my choices (I might have put in Hello Goodbye, if Don’t Stop weren’t like a staple), and I’m disappointed at the lack of build-up and the determination to treat the rest of the club like props in the background. I’m not asking for them to cut Finn and Rachel out completely. They’re part of the club too, and the songs I would personally choose did give them some attention, especially Don’t Stop and Like a Prayer, both of which give them solos (but not JUST them). I want the show to stop acting like the other kids aren’t fucking bazoingo talented, yo.
In fact, when I alter the season in my head, I’m going to put those songs in instead. Nyah.
I have to admit the “Mercedes is coming in too!” in the Bohemian Rhapsody Birth Scene was just a spotlight of awesome. (Queercedes! I know that a lot of fans hate Queercedes, and want to hate on it because it isn’t Quinn and Rachel (who still don’t like each other), but I love it, because it’s PHENOMENAL.) I was really pissed, though, that Quinn’s mom can come up to her after letting her be kicked out of the house and expect Quinn to just forgive her. I yelled at the screen (I don’t remember what), which probably amused my roommate and scared my cats. Development of plot next year, maybe? (DEVELOP YOUR PLOTS)
Quinn crying out in song throughout the birth scene was seriously embarrassing, but I’ll let them off without too much snark because I bet Ryan Murphy had that in mind from the beginning of the pregnancy plot.
Now, after they LOST, when we saw the judges debating, the episode proved immensely. Like TONS. Emotionally and wrt pacing, it seemed to start to fall into place. And, granted, I guessed exactly how it was going to fall out. I dunno if that’s good or bad, but it’s better than WTF for sure.
I’m sorry that Shelby has been such a disappointing mom to Rachel, but hopefully they can secure Idina next year, and do some stuff with her, Rachel, and My Two Dads. (Yeah, you heard me. A plot for Rachel. That I’d like to see. Onscreen. OMG. Maybe with gay dads singing too with her, or Idina singing with one of the dads. I don’t care if they have to recast them. Taye Diggs could be one of them. :P)
I thought that the part where they recounted where they started out was well conceived. It had a sense of closure for the season, like using Don’t Stop did, and it gave Matt the football player and Mike LINES. (Surprise!) What I DIDN’T like about that part was the implication that Schue is Finn’s father figure, and that... that, sir. Dear Zod, someone save Finn! Somebody SAAAAAAAAVE him!
No, BURT is his father figure now. He’s not perfect, but he’s a strong, if normally calm person, who exhibits a masculinity that protects the weak but doesn't need to be hyper-aggressive to prove that you are at your MOST MAN GRRR, and he should be good for Finn (I hope this is where Finn was going from the Gaga episode), like Finn’s mom should be good for Kurt. And.... Hopefully next year, they’ll have more of the Hummel-Hudson clan and development of Finn and Kurt as brothers. Also, they promised us a love interest for Kurt. Maybe that will happen next year? My random prediction is on one of those football players that keeps hassling him. I’m of two minds about that, because while (as someone on a queer rant community pointed out) it would be nice to have a gay character that did not necessarily have the ‘stereotypical’ interests that Kurt has, I’m not jazzed about the concept of bringing in a character that will let people fall into reading Kurt and a boyfriend in a heteronormative way.
OH, Kurt’s the gurl! This other character, thou, is the guy. I gots it!-- No, they’re both the guys. The gay guys. >:P You don’t have to have one of each. It’s not gay Pokemon. /end tangent
The song in this section was very nice. :)
Sue is such a villain. She has to monologue. So annoying to Will, and amusing to me. I guessed that though, because Sue has buttons that you push to get to her soft side, and that classist bullshit the celebs were spewing (good jobs on the parts of ONJ and Josh Groban) shot right to the heart of it and her upbringing with her older sister. Hello, she DOES work hard for it. Telling her that some people by category are just better/more starlike (odd from a local newscaster who I guess sees himself as a star, but pointed that it’s the guy who dicked her around, since Sue is more of a star than he is with tv appearances, books, championships, internet fame): BOO. I said earlier in the week that it would be more interesting next year if they LOST and had to keep working, perhaps as a rogue glee club, but this will work too. :) I want the writers to have a goal and a sense of purpose when plotting out the next year.
All the gay sharks of the episode went to Sue, btw. Hopefully, next year, Brittney will have some lines again, even if I don’t really care if she has a plot. Santana, however, needs to get a plot. GIMME PLOT. (Actually, I’m torn on that. By the time they get back, I’ll probably have created a backstory for Santana of my own, that it will ruffle me to get jossed.)
I’m not that interested in Will singing because, like Sue, I want to puke in his mouth most of the time, but that was a refreshing song to end on, and it was emotionally and pritty. I’m glad it wasn’t embarrassing middle aged white boy hip hop. The birth scene was all the embarrassment I can handle. (God, I cannot spell embarrassment. Em Bare Ass Ment. Thank Zod for spellcheck.)
So what’s the pairing for Will and Puck? Wuck? Pill? Shcuck? Schuckerman? I like Schmuck or Schmuckerman, actually. It works for both their characters. *iz mean. ruffles Puck’s lack of hair and avoids Schue’s brillo pad* I guess it's not so mean for people who like Puck because he's a schmuck.
And let’s note the BFFOT3 that makes me so happy: When they found out that they were getting another year, Quinn jumped up and HUGGED KURT. During Over the Rainbow, Quinn reached out for Mercedes (AHHHH) and Kurt reached up and squeezed their hands. This is the friend-love I was hoping for since “Home.” Sigh.
QUEERCEDES! QueerKurtCedes :D
And while I’m on it, other hopes for next year:
-More development of Artie and Tina that does not kick him in the ribs repeatedly (get it together, show)
-Return of Neil Patrick Harris and more play on his torrid affair with Sue
-More Sue with her sister <3
-If I have to put up with the
-More songs chosen for appropriateness, and less for theme shows, unless it is them trying out Rent songs (Kurt singing “I’ll Cover You” with a guy, “Take Me or Leave Me” duet with Santana and... Mercedes? Quinn? Some other girl?)
-One-shot cameo from Lady Gaga. (not dressed in costumes) This is probably out of their budget, but hey, she likes the show, or so she said. It could happen!
That’s it. Go home. Or give your hopes for next year or contestants for the Gay Shark of the episode in the comments.