I guess I have to eat my hat on the scene that pissed me off in the promos with regard to Quinn, because it was not what I thought at all. She went up to Finn, who she might still have feelings for, on behalf of Rachel, and tested him, asking him out. That had to be a risk for her, and him turning her down had to hurt a lot. Quinn is like in Sam mode at this point. I noticed before that she keeps sitting perfectly rigid, with a cold expression on her face. It's like yeah, "no more crying," but with that, there's not much else getting past the surface, either.
I tweeted mid-show about her sitting with Mercedes and bonding over lack of lines. Because they were sitting together. (queercedes! …very quietly)
A few more positive things: Coach Biest. She saw her boys bullying Finn and Artie, and let them on the team. I mean, that's really cool of her. I don't know how that's going to turn out, and I really, sincerely doubt that Tina is going to come crawling to Artie the way he expects her to. But it was very sweet of Biest to do it. She was my favorite new character last episode, and I don't know who the newbies are going to be, but she's still rockin' strong.
More lines and songs for Brittany and Santana. Obviously, Brittnay is a great dancer, and her and Santana having a fantasy together was cool. But I think we got the first NICE thing out of Santana's lips ever. AWESOME SANTANA I HOPE YOU'RE OKAY I KNOW IT HURTS THE FIRST TIME.
And btw, some character backstory that Josses my backstory for her, but works anyway. Her father is a doctor, aka, she is spoiled and rich (which is the impression I got at first, but it still doesn't explain why she's always angry).
Kurt telling Mr. Shoe off. And getting sent to the principal's office for running his mouth over Britney Spears! Fight the power, Kurt!
I think that's it. Shoe's storyline… eh. I sort of glaze over when people tell him what an awesome teacher he is, and then Rachel took over the episode away from Brittany (Haha, did you think you'd get character development? Guess again!), but at least she wasn't a sociopath this episode, and back to her regular, narcissistic self. "I'm just being honest!"-- the rally cry of today's youth.
The songs… okay. I'm not a great fan of Britney Spears, but the Brittney/Santana one and Toxic were okay. I wasn't that enthralled by having to sit through FOUR music videos instead of a plot, especially when Rachel gets so many solos anyway and it would have had like… I dunno, SUSPENSE if she'd just gone under, cut to commercial, and then we see her next day at school with her new confidence. If they keep doing long stretches of musical performance like that, the episodes are going to be shorter and duller.
…I'm out of rambling. I think. It was okay. At least it didn't have like, four racist Asian jokes.
The promo for next week… I think I will actually die. ;__;
no subject
Date: 2010-09-29 03:12 pm (UTC)From:As far as Quinn is concerned. It seemed like as soon as she put that uniform back on, everything she learned about being on the outside and friendship went out the window. She went back to her cold and aloof self.
And just when you think it's safe to go back into the water...they slam you with Rachel singing. I really loathe her character. And quite frankly I am losing interest in the show.
I have no respect for Shue, lost it a while back. I think he's an awful teacher. After what Rachel did to Sunshine last week, she should have been kicked out of Glee and expelled from school.
no subject
Date: 2010-09-29 05:28 pm (UTC)From:Shue is a terrible teacher. He's just a boychild on an ego trip, and has the kids do whatever he's jazzed up about that week, while focusing on a few favorites and ignoring the others with real problems. Rachel's behavior with Sunshine was inexcusable, and she surely should have gotten something more than a slap on the wrist.